soc-project

Problem or Situation Address:

For my Piano recital, I would always mess up because my mom would be there. She hates when I make a mistake and she would give me looks.

Theoretical Ideas:

Sense of self- How you think about yourself

Looking glass self- How other people view you

Me vs I-  I is the unpredictable part about yourself and me is the part you censor yourself.

Deviance- when people break social norms

Social Control- people try to discipline other people to lead them to what is right and wrong.

Theory-to-Project Relation:

For my sense of self, I felt like I was not a good piano player and I felt bad for mess up.

Looking Glass Self- when I mess up, I thought people were making fun of me and talking about me.

Me vs I- I part was me before I got up there to play. I would have a pep talk to myself saying I got this and nobody can stop me.

me part would go up there and mess up and my anxiety would start kicking in.

Deviance- I went against my mom way of thinking. She wanted me to play good with no mistakes and I felt like I never was good enough.

Social Control- my mom would try to tease me about it so I can do better. It never work out that way because the method make it worst.

How I make it:

I grab some of my old sheet music and I went to the music building. I had someone record me play the piano. I also called my friend to see if she had old videos of me playing at the recital.

Advice:

Start the project early so you have more time to correct yourself or change some things.

 

 

 

