soc

Problem or Situation Addressed 

This project shows how we see ourself in someone else’s eyes. In today’s society, we constantly wonder how others see us.

Theoretical Ideas

“According to Cooley, our interactions with others involve three steps that, repeated in all our interactions, forge our sense of self: 1. We imagine our image in the eyes of others. 2. We imagine the others making some judgment about us. 3. We experience a feeling as a result of the imagined judgement.”(Experience Sociology by D. Croteau and W. Hoynes, p. 153; idea by Cooley)

“An early American sociologist, Charles Horton Cooley (1864-1929), articulated this point with his concept of the looking glass self, the idea that our sense of self develops as a reflection of the way we think others see us.”(Experience Sociology by D. Croteau and W. Hoynes, p. 153; idea by Cooley)

“Mead’s “I” is the part of the self that is spontaneous, impulsive, creative, and unpredictable”(Experience Sociology by D. Croteau and W. Hoynes, p. 153; idea by Mead)

“Mead’s “me” is the sense of self that has been learned from interaction with others”(Experience Sociology by D. Croteau and W. Hoynes, p. 153; idea by Mead)

“Your sense of self is the collection of thoughts and feelings you have when considering yourself as an object” (Experience Sociology by D. Croteau and W. Hoynes, p. 153)

Theory-to-Project Relation

This project is related to the looking glass self and Cooley’s three step process:

1. You imagine how you appear to others

Ex. The woman thinks she is fat (when she is clearly skinny)

Ex. The man thinks he is fit (when he clearly has a gut)

2. You imagine how others are judging you based on that appearance

Ex. “That guy is staring at me because he sees how disgusting and fat I am”.

Ex. “That girl is staring at me because she sees how good I look”.

3. We experience a feeling as a result of the imagined judgment

Ex. “Because of how fat I am, others think I am ugly”.

Ex. “Because of how fit I am, others think I am hot”

Also, this project is related to social norms (what to wear, how to act, and what to look like):

Ex. “Girls need to be skinny to be pretty”

Because of this statement (and plenty other ones) girls are constantly feeling not good enough because of social norms, which happen to change every month.

Also, this project is related to I vs Me:

The man shows the “I” because he is very confident in the way he looks. On the other hand, the woman shows the “Me” because she is insecure about the way she looks.

Lastly, this project is related to Sense of self:

Ex. “Does he think I am ugly?””Does he think I am fat?”

We are constantly questioning what people are thinking of us because of the way we see ourselves in other’s eyes.

How did you make it?

I searched the looking glass self on google and came across a picture that showed a heavy set man looking in the mirror and seeing himself as fit and a skinny woman looking in the mirror and seeing herself as fat. I thought of ways that could be more creative than just drawing it. I was in Hobby Lobby and came across two styrofoam heads and that is when this idea came to my mind. I put “what they looked like in the mirror” in the eyes of the heads and then used two barbie dolls to show what they truly looked like. However, I had to stuff cotton balls into Ken’s shirt because I could not find an overweight Ken.

Advice to Others 

First, my advice would be to actually do the readings. Second, I would write down all the terms and things that pop out at you while doing the readings because more than likely these are the things that interest you and you could possibly use for the project. DO NOT stress about your topic or how you want to present it. Creative things will come to your mind while you are not even thinking about it. Lastly, do your project on something that you are interested in and passionate about.

 

