Chaix's project.jpgProblem or Situation Addressed

I decided to represent how in today’s society women feel the need to change their appearance and personality to be accepted in society.

Theoretical Ideas

I used the reading,”The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life” to get the basis of my ideas and to make sure I knew what each topic meant so I could put it in my own way.

Theory-to-Project Relation

“The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life” theory is that people change their personality or appearance when in the presence of others. Women look at magazines for advice and tips, they think these women on the cover are the “perfect” person based on society. Women put on makeup or go through surgery to help them look like the women on the cover and not be an outcast because they don’t look like that. We do these things for others acceptance, but when people aren’t watching we don’t wear makeup and we are not always happy. We put up a front while we are around people to make them think we are perfect and have no problems.How it ties with this magazine cover, is that the little girl on the cover grows up looking at all these magazine thinking this is how we are suppose to look and act. So she can never really be herself because these covers tells women that they have to have perfect skin, thin body, etc. I wanted to spread this awareness that  society pushes the “perfect” image on girls growing up making them go through self-harming or other hatred on their body to look like these women.

How did you make it?

I made it through Photoshop. My inspiration for this project is myself, I go through body-shaming. I wanted to make people aware of this issue in society.

Advice to Others

My advice to others is do the  project on something you are passionate about because it makes it a whole lot easier to do the research on and present it.

